Menu

Parisian moments


Diversion

In this collection of photographs, two visually distinct worlds are separated by a translucid surface; here a thick curtain cut from some common material, there a windowpane covered by cursive letters. To one side, reality, too obvious and fairly dull, where the photographer sets up his tripod; to the other, the same landscape brought to life by a soft chromatic murmur, by simultaneously muffled and sonorous iridescence.

Parisian moments. At the hour of vespers when commerce is silenced, the silhouettes of passers-by hurry through a pedestrian street; other city-dwellers, welcoming a salutary leisure, linger at a café table savoring sips of beer, dilapidate shards of conversation, fragments of their scattered lives, and at times – more rarely – play cards with college classmates.

And too bad, or all the better, if the pub that we see here already is gone. Or, rather: the former décor no longer exists. Parisian cafés, one could say, following on the words of Baudelaire in his Tableaux parisiens, “change faster, alas, than the heart of a mortal”.

Menu

Instants parisiens


Diversion

Dans cet ensemble de photographies, deux univers visuels distincts se trouvent séparés par une surface translucide, tantôt une bâche épaisse, taillée dans une matière triviale, tantôt une vitre surchargée de caractères cursifs. D’un côté, la réalité, trop lisible et passablement terne, où le photographe a planté son trépied ; de l’autre, ce même paysage réveillé par une douce rumeur chromatique, par des irisations à la fois tamisées et sonores.

Instants parisiens. À cette heure vespérale où le négoce s’est tu, des silhouettes de passants hâtent le pas dans une rue piétonne ; d’autres citadins, saluant le loisir salutaire, s’attardent à la table d’un bistrot, savourent de petites gorgées de bière, dilapident des bribes de conversation, des fragments de leur vie éparse ; et parfois, plus rarement, jouent aux cartes entre camarades de fac.

Et tant pis, ou tant mieux, si le bar-restaurant que l’on voit ici n’existe déjà plus. Ou plutôt : le vieux décor n’est plus. Les cafés de Paris, pourrait-on dire à la suite du poète des Tableaux parisiens, « changent plus vite, hélas, que le cœur d’un mortel ».